Shadow — Sombra

Francisco Martínez
2 min readAug 8, 2023

Shadow

During the night, I went to the cemetery to accompany the spirit of my recently deceased wife. Sitting at the edge of the grave, I talked to her and remembered the last moments we lived together. At first, I thought I saw something moving in the distance. Intrigued, I tried to identify it. A few moments passed and that began to take shape. It was a shadow. It was a shadow cast by the moonlight. Suspicious and maintaining distance, that black shape greeted me timidly with a wave of its hand. For an instant, terror seized me. Slowly, I tried to walk away toward the exit but to increase my despair, two other shadows blocked my way a few meters away. I plucked up my courage and ran to the massive iron gate that I had left ajar. When I reached the height of the shadows, I looked at the ground and I could see my shadow going through them without any impediment. When I left the cemetery, under the moonlight, I ran a long way and then tried to sit down to recover my strength. It was then that I noticed that my hands were not finding my body, because I was just another shadow.

Sombra

Durante la noche fui al cementerio a acompañar el espíritu de mi esposa recién fallecida. Sentado al borde de la tumba, hablé con ella y recordé los últimos momentos que vivimos juntos. Al principio, me pareció ver algo moviéndose en la distancia. Intrigado, traté de…

--

--